A-Z Artist Index  Compilations  Record Labels  Media
Help Us!  Contact Us  Resources  Timeline


From: Finglas, Dublin


Style: Synth-Pop / New Romantic

Lineup: (1982)
Lineup: (1986-87)


Emmett O'Reilly and Martin Greene formed Ireland's first synth-pop duo in a Soft Cell/Depeche Mode style in 1982. Both had previously been in punk band The Citizens. Martin Greene had also been in post-punk outfit New Career.

Montage played lots of gigs in Judge & Jury using backing tapes and recorded several demos including "Continents" and "Never", produced by Dave Freely. They also recorded a Dave Fanning Session for RTE Radio (produced by Ian Wilson, broadcast 15 June 1984, tracks: "The Twenty-First", "What I Don't Know", "Years", "Blessing From Heaven", plus at least one more title). RTE offered the original Montage duo a TV-slot based on hearing the demo but backed out when the TV producer (Aongus McAnally of folk-rockers Mushroom) was told that there was no band, just two guys and some synths.

As a result of this reaction, the band decided to add a rhythm section, and Montage became a four piece with Damian Corless (ex New Career, Paul Angle) on bass and John McManus (ex Cotton Mill Boys!) on drums. This expanded lineup developed a New Romantic dimension. They were signed by Vixen Records for a one-off single "The Twenty-First", released in 1982. They performed this track on Non-Stop Pop on RTE TV.

Sometime later, possibly circa 1984, Montage were the first band offered a recording contract on U2's Mother Records label by Bono but declined for various reasons. Sometime after Dermot Smyth replaced Emmett O'Reilly as singer but the band split (in late 1985?).

In early 1986, Martin Green, Dermot Smyth and bassist Tony Cantwell were rehearsing with a drummer in an unnamed project which became Montage. They'd slimmed down to a duo again of just Greene/Smyth when they signed to Reekus Records and released several singles described as "electronic/synth with mannered vocals".

Unreleased demos include "Changes In Mind", "Never Again", "Power Of Love" and "Play The Game".

Emmett O'Reilly later took over the Local Motions column in Hot Press from Steady Eddie, reporting on local bands and reviewing demo tapes for several years.

Emmett O'Reilly is now an accountant. Damian Corless is now a freelance journalist and author. Martin Greene is now an airline pilot.


• The 21st / Never
7" - Vixen Records - FM005 - 1982

• When I Close My Eyes / Where Are You Now
7" - Reekus Records - RKS 0018 - 1986
Produced by Patrick Dunne & Joe Jewell.

With Tony McGuinness (bass) and Joe Jewell (guitar/backing vocals) of Aslan plus Carl Geraghty of 70s band The Urge (sax) and David Cullen (drums).

• Who Will Stop The Rain / If I Only Had Money
7" - Reekus Records - RKS 0021 - 1987

• Swansong / Closer
7" - Reekus Records - RKS 0022 - 1987
Produced by Patrick Dunne.

With Carol Nelson (keyboards), Liam Murphy (guitar), and Gerry Feeley (drums).


We need your help to correct and/or complete this entry. If you can provide more information about this band, have scans, photos or any other memorabilia we can use, or spare copies of any releases, then please get in touch.

See Also: Paul Angle

A-Z Artist Index  Compilations  Record Labels  Media
Help Us!  Contact Us  Resources  Timeline