A-Z Artist Index  Compilations  Record Labels  Media
Help Us!  Contact Us  Resources  Timeline

Smiler / Night Prowler

From: Antrim, Northern Ireland

Active: 1976-79

Style: Glam Rock / Hard Rock

Smiler Lineup:
Night Prowler Lineup (1979):
Night Prowler Lineup (1980):


Smiler were a glam rock band with twin drummer lineup who toured all round Ireland from 1976 onwards. Their chief influence was the Glitter Band, who they'd witnessed live in Belfast, though Status Quo were also an influence. Lead guitarist Ray Murray left to play bass in the Teddy Palmer Showband, and they became the much rockier Incredible Smiler Band, with new lead guitarist Mark McGowan. Following further lineup changes and a turn towards heavier material, the band evolved into the AC/DC-inspired hard rock / heavy metal outfit Night Prowler who were active by September 1979. Night Prowler covered AC/DC, Status Quo and Rory Gallagher among others but the emphasis was on self-penned material.

By the start of 1980 Alec Robinson was replaced by Trevor Bloxsom on bass. Tom Teegan was replaced by Tim McGowan on drums. The played the usual University gigs and had a residency in Spuds in Portstewart. Night Prowler made some recordings and radio appearances but never released any material. Some records survive on reel-to-reel. Tom Teegan was later in No Smokin'.

See also:

Help!: We need your help to complete this entry. If you can tell us more about this band then please do! We welcome any corrections, missing details, connections to other bands, where are they now, etc. We also need photos, scans, copies of releases or live or demo recordings, and any other memorabilia gathering dust in the attic. If you can help, then please get in touch.

A-Z Artist Index  Compilations  Record Labels  Media
Help Us!  Contact Us  Resources  Timeline